A Memory Called Empire

A Memory Called Empire

Ambassador Mahit Dzmare arrives in the center of the multi-system Teixcalaanli Empire only to discover that her predecessor, the previous ambassador from their small but fiercely independent mining Station, has died. But no one will admit that his death wasn't an accident--or that Mahit might be next to die, during a time of political instability in the highest echelons of the imperial court.

Now, Mahit must discover who is behind the murder, rescue herself, and save her Station from Teixcalaan's unceasing expansion--all while navigating an alien culture that is all too seductive, engaging in intrigues of her own, and hiding a deadly technological secret--one that might spell the end of her Station and her way of life--or rescue it from annihilation.

Title:A Memory Called Empire
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781529001587

    A Memory Called Empire Reviews

  • Petrik

    ARC provided by the publisher—Tor Books—in exchange for an honest review.Easily one of the cleverest sci-fi debuts I’ve read so far.A Memory Called Empire is Arkady Martine’s debut novel and t...

  • carol.

    With reservations.What do you mean, what do I mean? There's something about it--as good, as inclusive, as remarkable as it is--that just fails to miss me. It's probably the genre. At any rate, this is...

  • Lori

    It has a slow at the start with the pace and world building then gets better as you go. Emphasis is own political intrigue in the Empire rather than action and thrills....

  • Gary

    Ambassador Mahit Dzmare, the protagonist of Arkady Martine’s debut space opera A Memory Called Empire, has more than one identity crisis on her hands: she has a deep affinity for the empire that wan...

  • Niki Hawkes - The Obsessive Bookseller

    [2.5/5 stars] I have to take a moment to explain how excited I was to dive into this book. I was expecting rich culture, a complex plotline, and fascinating characters. And while I think all those com...

  • Elizabeth Bear

    An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov....

  • Acqua

    A Memory Called Empire is a political sci-fi novel with a main f/f romance, the best court intrigue I've read in months if not ever, and plot twists I didn't see coming.It's set in a space empire in w...

  • Bradley

    This was something of a slow starter for me. I enjoyed the empire that ran on poetry aspect quite a bit. The standard book of poetical encryptions, the multilayered pride, and subversions built right ...

  • Sarah

    I'm super disappointed to be giving this only three stars (no three stars isn't bad- I'd just much rather give it four or five). I'm beginning to question whether it's me or the books. I guess I'll st...

  • Nick T. Borrelli

    Over the past thousand years or so the Teixcalaanli Empire has been gradually swallowing up smaller planets and outposts to add to its vastly growing domain, often with no care with regard to the free...