Out of the Dark

Out of the Dark

When darkness closes in―he's your last, best hope. Evan Smoak returns in Gregg Hurwitz’s #1 international bestselling Orphan X series.

Taken from a group home at age twelve, Evan Smoak was raised and trained as part of the Orphan Program, an off-the-books operation designed to create deniable intelligence assets―i.e. assassins. Evan was Orphan X. He broke with the Program, using everything he learned to disappear and reinvent himself as the Nowhere Man, a man who helps the truly desperate when no one else can. But now Evan's past in the Orphan Program is reaching out to him.

Someone at the very highest level of government has been trying to eliminate every trace of the Orphan Program by killing all the remaining Orphans and their trainers. After Evan's mentor and the only father he ever knew was killed, he decided to strike back. His target is the man who started the program and who is now the most heavily guarded person in the world: the President of the United States.

But President Bennett knows that Orphan X is after him and, using weapons of his own, he's decided to counter-attack. Bennett activates the one man who has the skills and experience to track down and take out Orphan X―the first recruit of the program, Orphan A.

With Evan devoting all his skills, resources, and intelligence to find a way through the layers of security that surround the President, suddenly he also has to protect himself against the deadliest of opponents. It's Orphan vs. Orphan with the future of the country―even the world―on the line.

Title:Out of the Dark
ISBN:9781250120427

    Out of the Dark Reviews

  • Theresa Alan

    This is the fourth novel in the Orphan X series. Again, you could read it as a stand alone, but I wouldn’t recommend it. Evan Smoak was plucked out of an orphanage at the age of 12 and trained to be...

  • Barbara

    3.5 starsIn this 4th book in the "Orphan X" series Evan Smoak - also known as Orphan X - plans to kill the President of the United States, Jonathan Bennett. The book can be read as a standalone, but f...

  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede

    Evan Smoak is a trained assassin known as Orphan X. He was part of the Orphan Program until he broke with it and used everything he had learned to reinvent himself as the Nowhere Man. Now he helps tho...

  • Dean J. Hill

    Thrilling fast-paced, action-fuelled, page-turning suspense to leave you breathless and wanting more. Fans of James Bond or James Patterson should look no further than this blockbuster novel by Gregg ...

  • Mark

    Note this is Book 4 of the Orphan X series but I had not read the previous 3 and was great as a stand alone ( although am going to buy and read the other 3 now )Having seen the authors name for the la...

  • Dianne

    He’s your last, best hope, but who can Evan Smoak turn to when he is out of options and his life is on the line? Orphan X is back and he is even more larger than life, more seemingly invincible, yet...

  • Cindy Burnett

    4.5 starsOut of the Dark is the fourth book in the Orphan X series and my favorite since the first in the series. I loved the first book and its balance between the Orphan Program aspects of the story...

  • Janet Newport

    Oh boy, do I ache all over.Thank you Netgalley and St Martin's Press for this arc. I loved it!. (Note for Judy D., previous reviewer -- this is not a kindle doc file but an E-pub file.... you'll need ...

  • Dave

    Out of the Dark is the fourth book in The Orphan X thriller series which features a Jason Bourne type invincible secret agent trained from childhood to be the perfect weapon. Orphan X left the fold, w...

  • Bianca

    3.5 starsAfter reading and loving the third novel in the Orphan X series, I jumped at the opportunity to read the fourth instalment. Out of the Dark continues Evan Stoak’s journey as the Nowhere Man...